Warning: Real and Raw blog do not read if sensitive to reality* and human nature.

Please heed the title warning!

I don’t know about you but on my search for change and looking into how to be happier and healthier I’m coming across all these sites that sing out from the bright silver linings of the clouds and spouting about the wonderment that is life that I’m somehow missing.  Don’t get me wrong, each to their own and it certainly is inspiring to read but after a few hours I start thinking – oh come on – really?!

Reality* check – as much as I’d love to, I am not going to wake up every morning with a sparkling smile on my face and a leap in my step Disney style.  In fact, there are some days that those people really get under my skin and the ones that do bring a smile to my face are Jack Dee types of the world who can make light of their (very normal, human and perhaps quite British) cynicism and grumpy views to this thing we call life.

I am keeping it real.  I am keeping it raw.  This is about my personal journey of discipline – i.e. making myself do things every single day that I may not necessarily feel like doing – but knowing it is for my greater good.  I am blogging about it because I am naively assuming you will take pity and throw out some words of encouragement (please!) or maaaaybe even inspire a few of you fellow cynics out there “if she can do it – so can I” style!  Or you can scoff, which you’re free to do but obviously I’d rather you didn’t, it’s not helpful – it will give you momentary pleasure but it’s not worth it, some part of your conscience will feel bad and then you’ll wish you hadn’t.  Plus karma will come and bite you.  Anyway, if you do, I will glance away from my screen and what will catch my eye, folding over the base of my laptop that’s precariously balanced on my lap?  My once toned stomach which now resembles more of a round podgy laughing Buddha stomach, it would be great if I had the spiritual wisdom or luck that came with that but I don’t – and I’m not laughing.  This will keep me on my path of discipline!

Anyway, this year I am determined to make changes so I feel happier.  It’s not just going to be about the food I eat, the exercise I do but also and perhaps more importantly it will be about how and what I think. Picking up the Buddha theme again inspired by my stomach: “What you think you become”.

I am going to update every day, be it one line or a few paragraphs – I’m human so bear with me and be prepared….you can bet I’m not going to be ‘oh la la la this is so fun and enlightening and I am floating on a cloud of bliss and happiness’… it’s going to be tough (I’ll be changing up bad habits of a lifetime here and introducing new ones I’ve previously dismissed), I’ll probably have my grumpy cat face on and I am going to have down days  – but this time I am going to work through them!  I am going to try, try, try, try, try and keep trying until I am doing – until I am being!  Until Health Becomes Me!

Join me on my journey!

Help me help you – or even better help me help me!!

Words of encouragement mean everything right now!

Thank you.

 

*NB Reality based on my personal experience and my view of the world (which some people might relate to or I might be standing out on that plank all on my own) also I’m not saying my said reality isn’t susceptible to change.  It does not in any way take away from other people’s reality, saying it’s right or wrong – we are all made up differently – thank God – makes the world an interesting place to be!

Published by

Jess Towers

*Live*Love*Laugh*

Leave a Reply

