New Habit Alert!

Every habit starts slowly and gradually and before you know you have the habit, the habit has you”  Zig Ziglar.

HABITS HEALTHBEAT

Source and more info: http://blog.addapp.io/hacking-habits-make-new-habits-stick/

We all know that Rome wasn’t built in a day – and I won’t become healthy immediately with a complete lifestyle change today but I’m slowly introducing new habits into my life.

Habit 1: Every morning I have and will have one full glass of water when I wake up.

In reading various articles I picked up somewhere along the way something that stuck with me – how much water we must lose during our sleep just through breathing.  It got me thinking about my morning routine which used to involve having a cup of tea once awake and then coffee thereafter – when did I even start to hydrate?  Maybe that would explain the headaches I used to get or sluggish feeling.  So now I down a glass of water as soon as I wake up and try to keep having glasses of water throughout the day.  After having done this for a few days or more now I am actually craving the glass of water when I wake up and needing the top ups throughout the day!

To make up for my lapse over the weekend I have ensured I have eaten well today.  I even made my very first smoothie (photo on instagram) of leek, spinach, cucumber, carrot, avocado and matcha powder.  I’m not going to lie, it wasn’t the most amazing thing I’ve ever tasted but it wasn’t that bad either – I think I will need to work on it a bit more (a lot more!), perhaps find sweeter options.  To be honest I wasn’t planning on making a smoothie so I had just grabbed what I had in the fridge and threw it in the blender…I’m not highly recommending this recipe haha

Using Instagram to post photos has helped keep me motivated as well as gain inspiration from others who are on the same journey – it is definitely important that when considering making changes in your life that you find like-minded people who will encourage and support you it makes a huge impact to your motivation that day!

So, what’s going to be your new habit?

Published by

Jess Towers

*Live*Love*Laugh*

Leave a Reply

