Let food be thy medicine and medicine be thy food – Hippocrates

A bit of a late blog this evening.  After a phone call with my Mum I started researching ways in which food and lifestyle have positive affects on the brain.  Just over a year ago my Mum had an acoustic neuroma tumour removed from her brain, they were unable to remove all of it but enough to prevent it from being life threatening.  Needless to say it shook the family up.  Since the operation there have been various complications, today she told me she is now looking at how to treat Synkinesis/Bells Palsy which has now developed.  One of the suggestions to her was to use Botox – to me this seems incredulous – why would you think that putting poison into your face is actually curing something?  So I have started investigating alternative methods and it’s a long process.

I wanted an answer to a question that popped into my head:
What foods have an affect on the brain and can it be broken down into what part of the brain they affect?

After starting 2015 working on my own personal health choices and what foods I put into my body I have learned many interesting facts about the benefits fresh foods contain and how they can help various parts of the body.  Food also affects hormones produced in the body.  Can I find a link that could show that certain foods included into my Mum’s diet could have a direct beneficial influence on Synkinesis?

In addition to my burning question I have also found (that don’t involve surgery, Botox or drugs) facial nerve physical therapy (not provided on the NHS in her town), acupuncture and of course plenty of water are beneficial but I want to do more research and find more answers.

I will keep on with my search and in the meantime I welcome any advice or information.

(Featured image from: jeffreysterlingmd.com)

Published by

Jess Towers

*Live*Love*Laugh*

Leave a Reply

