How to be HAPPY!

So with Monday approaching and our weekend coming to an end some of us find our mood sinking.  For those that can wake up in the morning and ‘choose to be happy’ well, more power to you, but there are some of us that think that’s a load of crap!  It got me wondering if there’s any way around it and in keeping with my health kick I wondered:  can diet affect our mood and if so what foods can make us feel happy?

Apparently the answer is YES!! As I like to keep things pretty simple I’ve listed the mood boosters below:

  • calcium (often lower calcium levels in us ladies which doesn’t help our moods so we need to top this up!)
  • chromium
  • folate
  • iron
  • magnesium
  • omega 3 fatty acids
  • vitamin B6
  • vitamin B12
  • vitamin D
  • zinc

Get these into your diet and hopefully you should feel the effects after time – I think it’s worth me trying out so I will keep you posted.  This is the webpage I found with this info that also lists the food where you’ll find these nutrients:  http://greatist.com/happiness/nutrients-boost-mood

Now, for the ladies out there who want to know what I picked up regarding reducing PMS symptoms, I read:

  • limit salt – it reduces bloating;
  • increase B6, Omega 3, calcium, zinc, magnesium (as listed above ‘happy’ foods – in basic terms eat fruit, veg, protein and fibre – avoid fast-food, sugary crap, ready-made meals etc – eat fresh!);
  • avoid alcohol, white flour, caffeine and sugar – they can make symptoms worse;
  • avoid ‘diet’ drinks or sweeteners as they can contain toxins that can have an adverse chemical impact on your brain cells – eek;
  • Get some exercise – even if it’s mild exercise, dance around your room for 10/20mins  – it’s important to get your blood pumping to keep things moving; and
  • stay hydrated – a cup of warm water with half a fresh lemon squeezed in is great for flushing out toxins and an energy booster

I know it can all sound rather dull – I am incorporating these things in my diet and replacing the ‘bad stuff’ but that is not to say I can’t have the ‘bad’ food when I want it.  (I think it’s human nature to want something more as soon as you’re told you can’t have it.)  But what I’m finding is – the more I read and the more I’m eating fresh foods and putting tasty meals / smoothies together (not bland as I assume ‘health’ food to taste) the more I’m actually preferring to eat them over some greasy take-out which I used to eat more frequently than not!

Anyway, ending it there as my Sunday night is almost over!  Enjoy the rest of your weekend.

Source of featured photo: http://www.funelf.net/this-is-my-happy-face/

Published by

Jess Towers

*Live*Love*Laugh*

2 thoughts on “How to be HAPPY!”

Leave a Reply

