Tease me, tease me, tease me Baby

Okay, so I’ve been getting some ribbing from friends as I’ve been on this new health journey for 2 weeks now.  I’m learning about what foods contain which I never knew before and so I’m a bit like an excited puppy spurting out my new-found knowledge to whoever is around me whenever something reminds me… which might be peeving some people and also giving them the impression I’m going full on health nut.

I’m not.

I’m not capable of completely radically changing my diet so that I’m T-total and only eating fruit and vegetables – not only am I not capable – I don’t want to either.  My view is we have One life and I don’t want to live that life completely depriving myself of everything we’re told is ‘bad’.  However, I don’t want to look and feel like crap in the meantime* (*between now and when I die) either so that’s why I’m on this journey – to introduce some balance into my life!  I think that’s totally fine to do – and so I’m going to get a bit excited when I discover something new, and I’m going to share it because that’s what I do – I want to feel good and I want others to feel good too! So tease away!

I read an article today about why diets and ‘cleanses’ don’t work and again it seems to come down to the radical changes that you’re having to throw into your life and – no wonder – your body and mind is thinking ‘what the ….’ and it’s probably making you feel more crap so you end up thinking what is the point.  I still maintain introducing these new things into your diet and life slowly is the answer, let it creep into your life unnoticed.

So I’ve been making a concerted effort to eat more healthily and avoid my ol’ tea with two sugars and milk (replaced with green tea or warm water and lemon) and avoid sodas (replaced with water) and yea, I’ve had some days where I have not felt great but that may have been more to do with the lunatic upstairs who plays (or rather tries to play) his keyboard (two or three notes over and over and over) until the early hours of the morning so I have had very little sleep – I need sleep!!  Anyway, I will tell you what I have noticed has changed about myself since starting this:

  • Random spurts of energy where I am compelled to jump around, dance or do something active ! for 10-20 mins till it dies down – weird.
  • Less bloating of my stomach and definitely have not had the pain or uncomfortable feeling after eating.
  • My skin! I usually have a splattering of spots on my forehead, despite being way past my teenage years, these haven’t disappeared completely but have definitely reduced.
  • My nails are growing again (last time they were like this was when I was on holiday last year) normally they break and flake easily.

Maybe this is all just a fluke, maybe I’m just imagining it but either way I think it’s all good and it’ll be interesting to see how it all develops!

In the meantime – feel free to tease 🙂

Published by

Jess Towers

*Live*Love*Laugh*

Leave a Reply

