SOS! Sunday Organic Shop

Evening All.  Today I did one of my favourite things….food shopping… . joking, I hate it.  I was going to attempt  shopping in ASDA to find some cheaper organic food but on seeing the humongous queues I turned around and walked back out – sod that!

So erring on the side of laziness, instead of shopping around I did a full shop at Whole Foods, something I’m not certain I’ll be repeating judging by the bill, I definitely think I need to do a bit more investigating in sourcing where to buy organic.

The general idea is reduce my exposure to foods that have been injected with hormones, covered in pesticides or genetically modified.  Of course I realise I’m not going to eradicate this from my life completely, especially if I don’t want to become one of those annoying picky people when eating out, and there will also, I’m sure, be some occasions when I want to buy a particular thing and perhaps I can’t find the organic version.  I did find this interesting article that listed out 4 foods that are probably best avoided if you can’t find the organic version, I’m sure there are more than 4 but it’s a starting point:  http://www.healthfreedoms.org/4-foods-you-should-defintely-buy-organic/

Anyway, in the interests of a short comparison here are a few organic items from Whole Foods compared with ASDA:

  • broccoli:  ASDA 98p ; Whole Foods:  £1.78 (although was much bigger than the ASDA broccoli)
  • tomatoes: ASDA £1.74 (only had pack of 4 and no organic cherry tomatoes)  ; Whole Foods: £2.29 (on vine cherry tomatoes)
  • cucumber: ASDA 97p ; Whole Foods: £1.99
  • Yeo yoghurt:  both the same at £1.50
  • Diced beef: both the same at £4.99

I will keep on the search to see what other comparisons I can find… when the mood strikes – I may have better success that way!

Featured image from: http://www.foodmatters.tv/content/2015-01-22

Published by

Jess Towers

*Live*Love*Laugh*

Leave a Reply

