Use the force!

I had one of those ‘Duh, of course’ moments today.

I watched a Ted Talks short video today on ‘how to stop screwing yourself over’.

One of the points to come out of it is that to create changes in our lives, to create the new habits and come off autopilot in our lives we have to force ourselves to start with.  We simply won’t feel like doing what we have set out to do every day but then who feels like coming out of our comfort zone when it is so, well, comfortable?

I mentioned in an earlier blog about how I’m looking to find ways to be a ‘morning’ person as it’s something I struggle with.  I want to attempt to see if I can change this, I had in my mind that I would find fancy schmancy ways which I would find inspiring and have me leaping out of bed with a huge grin on my face…

Mel Robbins, in the Ted Talks video, puts it a little more bluntly.  Put the alarm on 30 mins earlier than intended and when it goes off whip the covers off and stand up.  This sounds like utter hell for me.  However, Robbins has a point – while we grew up we had our parents tell us (or nag us) to do the things we didn’t feel like doing but should do.  Now, we have to do that for ourselves – we can choose not to – however, by not doing some of these key things and just allowing ourselves to continue on autopilot or ‘snoozing’ we’re missing out on so much.

Robbins also mentioned a 5 second rule – that if no action is taken within 5 seconds of having a thought of doing something out of the norm or your comfort zone that the brain puts a halt to it and the moment has passed.  How much are we missing out on?  And who wants to miss out?!

I feel like I have already been using ‘the force’ by doing my daily blog, ensuring I am eating and drinking healthily every day and doing exercise – and now I need to spread it further into my life.

May the force be with you!

Published by

Jess Towers

*Live*Love*Laugh*

Leave a Reply

